Practicing Acceptance

Being mentally ill isn’t exactly a walk in the park. And if it were, that park would be infested with land-loving sharks, 10-story high roaches, man-eating grasshoppers and killer shadows. Sometimes we just have to accept that our world is not everyone else’s.

I’ve had to learn how to take my medications daily while telling myself that, yes, I do need these drugs, there is a chemical imbalance in my brain and it needs to be treated.

I’ve had to learn that what I hear others saying may not be what was actually said.

I’ve had to learn that how I see the world is not how others see it.

I’ve had to learn that what I feel is not always appropriate, or even correct.

In short, I’ve learned not to trust myself.

The very least that I can do, that I have to do, is accept my situation point-blank. The quicker I am to accept my situation, the quicker I can assess what needs to be done to recover and live a (somewhat) normal life.

Leave a Reply

